Separation Anxiety

My almost 21-month-old still cries when I leave for work. Specifically today. After having been working for 1.5 months.

It happened after dinner (my break). Daddy left for tuition. Mummy was about to finish up her plate. Daddy said bye bye to the boys… Oliver said “no!”. He then came to lean against my chair and said “mee…meee”. I suppose he was telling himself that Daddy is going, but it’s okay, mummy will be here.

I told him I will need to leave for work soon too. He hung on to my leg as I got up to wash my hands and mouth. Gave him a kiss and he started to cry. I left the house and waited for the lift down. He stood there crying behind the baby-gate installed at the front door of our unit. It was such a heart-breaking scene.

He needed at least a mummy or daddy with him. It was going to be his bedtime soon. What’s wrong with having a mummy or daddy for bedtime, right? I know baby… I know… It’s just that mummy has to work to keep this place. And daddy has to give tuition 2 evenings of the week. Sorry baby….

But we’ve been very proud that you have been fine most of the days!

Days like this just happen once in a while. You’re still small. Naturally you need mummy or daddy with you when you feel down… but we still had to leave you with your grandmother and Edward… 😦

Edward is a brave boy now. He doesn’t cry when mummy or daddy leaves for work. He even tells Oliver everything will be okay. That mummy and daddy will be back. We’re so proud of him.

I hope the boys will get used to it soon. It’s twice a week that they have to go to bed with their grandmother…

About Lili

Lili is a wife and a mum to 3 boys. An aspiring writer. Adores creativity, art and beautiful creations. Dog lover. Gentle-parenting follower. Follow her parenting journey at www.happywehappyfamily.com where she writes about family happiness and how to stay connected to our spouse and kids.
This entry was posted in Daily Happenings, Oliver and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

