Will I ever get my angelic son back?

So… Is this the appearance of the infamous “terrible twos” episodes? Whining, screaming, crying with and without tears, not listening, not cooperating, bossy, etc. goodness! If it is, then Edward is right on schedule. He just turned two 10 days ago. Some children give this “exhibition” before they turn 2 and so we thought Edward would not be among those who are dubbed “the terrible twos”. But…… Here it comes!

It’s very frustrating. You have a very good boy and overnight he wakes up with a new temperament, new attitude, new behavior. It’s scary isn’t it? I guess as parents, we would have to go through this many more times… Like, the transition From a child to a teenager, from a teenager to an independent adult, etc. I guess during these times, we would be given a blow by the change in our children. It’s true we can still keep it under control but i don’t think we can do much.

For this instance, how do I control this tantrum thingy? *sigh*

It was my mistake to have given him cough syrup early in the morning today. He became drowsy. He had a full blown tantrum before 11am. Before his lunch. Before his nap. He didnt eat the fish dish with vegetables i had prepared for him. He asked for cereal. And even then, he insisted eating only the BIG piece of cereal. It was so much fuss that we had to stop the lunch. And Because he was so sticky from the humid climate, I had to give him a quick shower. OH MY GOODNESS. Not easy. Tons of crying in the bathroom. Tons.

I don’t want to see my child going through this “unhappiness”. They are unhappy when they cry, right? But I don’t know what to do. Could only finish what I had to finish and let him cry while I am doing it against his will. Is there a better way to deal with a tired toddler?

Brought him up for his nap. Fell asleep within 5 minutes, without a bottle.

This is what parents mean by having to avoid making your toddler over tired. Best example scenario ever this morning.

About Lili

Lili is a wife and a mum to 3 boys. An aspiring writer. Adores creativity, art and beautiful creations. Dog lover. Gentle-parenting follower. Follow her parenting journey at www.happywehappyfamily.com where she writes about family happiness and how to stay connected to our spouse and kids.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Will I ever get my angelic son back?

  1. boy oh boy! My first son hit his terrible two’s in his late second year and even then it wasn’t so bad. But I think my second son might have a terrible two in full. He already has quite a temper.

  2. jrsgifts says:

    My son lured me into a false sense of security and was reasonably good except for high-pitched screaming and throwing himself on the floor for 30 seconds…. until one day, he decided that wasn’t enough! He screamed, hit, kicked, bit, threw toys, cried for up to AN HOUR AT A TIME! There was no warning, no build up, just one day the usual, the next, BAM! I feel your pain! I tried to take him to the Health Visitor for his two year check and he just screamed at her for 20 minutes and we had to reschedule a home visit where I arranged for two of his friends to be round to put him at ease and it worked “insert relieved smile” the H/V put him forward for funding to go to nursery to give me respite because I have depression, anxiety and mobility issues and hubby was working very long hours… I admit, I couldn’t cope. But 10 weeks of nursery and the tantrums have gone from several times a day over EVERYTHING to maybe once or twice a week AT THE MOST “insert huge relieved grin and jumping up and down” he’s back to being my beautiful little boy (I was starting to think somebody had swapped him for a lookalike!)… It’s not easy but it will stop, or at least calm down. The best thing I find now if he can’t be talked out of it or distracted is… to walk away. If we’re at home I’ll get my book, sit and start reading. If we’re out, I’ll sigh and check my phone/shopping list etc, and start looking around. If they have no audience they usually calm down. My son always says sorry and asks for a cuddle before accepting mummy can’t push the bike and a pram full of stuff/magically appear at daddys work/make daddy stop working/make money appear from nowhere… you get the picture. While we cuddle, I tell him I understand he’s upset and gently explain why things are the way they are and he usually gets it… Sorry for the long winded comment, just hope it helps πŸ™‚

    • teamcleo says:

      thank you for sharing! Glad to hear that your son is getting better! Good for you πŸ™‚ and I hope you are coping well with depression and all. Take care of yourself and you will have a happy family πŸ™‚ cheers!

      • jrsgifts says:

        Thanks, It’s always good to know that you’re not alone! I felt trapped until he did it at a play group and one of the other mums got a support worker to talk to me before I left to give me some advice, because her daughter had done it too! Hope your angel returns πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

