Frustrated mother of TWO!

There is at least one moment a day that my heart would beat faster, I get tensed up and feel like screaming to the top of my lungs out of pure frustration! That is how it’s like sometimes, staying at home with a 22 month old and a 3 month old.

That time of the day I hate the most: Oliver’s morning and afternoon nap time!

Oliver has to be helped to sleep and Edward would come to the bedroom chatting away. Sometimes demanding me to do this and that. Sometimes screaming or whining. WHILE I AM TRYING TO MAKE OLIVER GO TO SLEEP! And the frustrating part doesn’t end there. I cannot talk sense to him. He doesn’t get it! He’s only a 22 month old toddler. Why would he know that Oliver needs some silence in order to fall asleep? and what adds to that frustration is that I would want Oliver to sleep because 1) he’s very sleepy, 2) i want to spend one-on-one time with Edward! and the thing is my toddler doesn’t get it! it’s understandable that he is jealous when i am trying to make Oliver sleep, but he doesn’t understand that once Oliver is asleep, mummy will actually have the time for him alone. Haiz!!!

Another time of the day when I can tear my head off is during Edward’s lunch time.

Sometimes he just WOULD NOT chew his food! it’s not that he isn’t capable of doing it. He is. But he chooses not to chew. It’s very frustrating. I should learn to let him starve. I should stop expecting him to eat the moment he sticks out his tongue with the food on it. Why care so much right? Let him skip one meal, what’s the big deal. He can have his snack after he wakes up from his afternoon nap right? I guess so. I need to learn to be more easy-going. Especially so when I’m dealing with a toddler.

So bottom line? 19 months probably isn’t the best gap between siblings. One thing i know is that it would have been easier if i could talk sense out of my toddler! but well, there are other things to consider when you consider the siblings’ gap, but i’m here to tell you that this is one reason that i think 19 months might be just too narrow a gap.

About Lili

Lili is a wife, mum, blogger, and aspiring author. She is a strong believer that we are IN CONTROL of the type of life we’re living, the type of person we are and the one we grow to be. Her goal is to help you become the person you want to be & have the life you deserve! Join her at www.lilisr.com
This entry was posted in Daily Happenings, Parenting Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Frustrated mother of TWO!

  1. meitot says:

    πŸ™‚ I know how you feel. It’s okay to feel that way. We maybe supermoms but still we’re human. My kids are in 1 year and 11 months gap, almost 2 years, but still they make me grouchy at times and the worst part is they don’t have the same things to like. A boy and a girl, and its really tiring. My husband tells me to find some ways that will give me a me-time. I know it’s hard for quite sometime. That’s my mom and mother-in-law always tells me, and they also told me that when they grew up you’ll suddenly feel you missed them as kids because they never get to hang with you anymore. So, honestly, its hard, easier said than done, but sometimes, we, moms have to look at the brighter side and enjoy what God gave us. πŸ™‚ I hope you can read my blog about sanity saving tips. It’s really the things that got me going. πŸ™‚ God bless… πŸ™‚

    • teamcleo says:

      thank you for your thoughts and encouragement πŸ™‚ you’re right, i need to enjoy what i have now πŸ™‚ actually i’ve read your sanity saving tips up till part 2 πŸ˜‰ just dropped by your part 3. They are really good suggestions and i will try to find time to get into a few of those!

  2. It’s very frustrating! My two younger ones are 18months apart, but I was lucky that my oldest could keep the the little guy entertained for a few months. The really frustrating thing is when they wake up the baby while trying to see how loud they can scream! This phase will go away. How long does it usually take to lul him to sleep? Can you make it a game with a timer? Maybe give Edward some blocks and ask him to build a surprise for you and tell him you’ll be back when the timer goes off.

    • teamcleo says:

      Thanks for your suggestion. I’ve never introduced a timer to Edward, I’m not sure if he can grasp the concept. Will try it though πŸ™‚ I desperately need him to be on his own while I help Oliver sleep!

  3. I hear ya! I have 26 month gap between my girls, youngest is 6 weeks. I always thought feeding the baby woul d be the hardest time but no, it’s nap time as you say. Toddler always wants to come in when I put the baby down and she has often been known to whisper ‘oooo no shouting’ then scream ‘SHOUT’. Awful! ! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

